Sanyukta’s Pov
After buying the
pregnancy test I
walked home in a hurry.
I ran up to my room,
and took the test.
I peed on the stick thingy and waited for what seemed like forever.
I paced around my room,I read my english literature notes,
I played with my phone
and even turned the fan on and off.
I was about to check the test when my phone rang,causing
me to jump,I answered
the phone and it was
Kaustuki.
“You stupid,Duck!
Where are you”She
asked me sounding
annoyed.
“I’m home”I answered
walking to and fro in
my room.
“I’m outside,Can I
come in” she asked.
“Of course! I’m in my
room” I hid the
pregnancy test thingy
under my new black and yellow covers.
I really didn’t want her to think I’m pregnant or
think I was assuming that I am.
The door opened and
she walked in.
“What’s up bitch?
What are you doing?”
She threw her bag to
my bed and sat down
on my comfy chair.
She was in white
skinny jeans and blue
tank top which she’d wore to college so I figured she came straight to me from there.
“I was just uh,Reading
my notes”I showed her
my notes and she nodded.
“Boring.So can you help
me with my homework?”
“I’ll get some water first,give me a minute” I walked to the door.
~
Kaustuki’s POV
I went over to Sanyu’s
bed sheets.They were
black and yellow.
Did I mention I like black and yellow? Well I do. I
unfolded her covers
trying to get a better
look at the design when
I saw a pregnancy test.
I knew exactly how
they look,my mom used them all the time. I looked at it and it
marked pregnant.
I opened my eyes wide while the door opened.
“Sanyu?What’s this
about?”I asked her
worriedly.
“Oh.Nothing important.
It’s not mine’s”She told
me obviously ‘lied’
“It says pregnant”As
soon as I said that the
glass of water splashes on the floor. She walked up to me and took the pregnancy test thingy from my hand.
She looked at it and her eyes widen.
“I-I-I can’t be, It’s all a
mistake” Tears started
forming in her eyes and
she bursted into tears.
“Come here,sweetie”I
pulled her in a hug.
Million things were going
through my head but
one specific one- Poor 22 years old innocent
pregnant Sanyu.
“Please tell me it’s not
true,Please Kaustu”A
tear fell down my
cheek and I patted her
back.
“Don’t worry Sanyu,I’m
here for you”I let go of
the hug when Jiggy
walked in the room.
“What’s goin-”He stopped when he saw her crying.he walked up to us.I was watching him all the time and I realized he spotted the pregnancy kit.He picked it up and read it.
“Kaustu.You’re
pregnant?”he lukd at
me confused,then at
Sanyu.
“Sanyu!are u the one
who is pregnant?”
She nodded.
“Who the hell did this
to you?”
“Calm down”I managed
to say seeing anger in
his eyes and the tone
of his voice.
“How will I tell mom?”
Sanyu wiped the tears and holded her head.
“Tell me what?”I looked at the door and
Sanyu’s mom was
standing there,looking
confused.
Sanyu’s Pov
Kaustu walked in front
of me as soon as my
mom came to the door.
I still had tears in my
eyes and I didn’t want
to talk to her since she
would realize something is up.
“Well,Uh,Sanyu kind of fail her test”Kaustu
said unsure,still
standing in front of me.
“Is that so Sanyu?”My
mom asked walking
closer to us.
“Yeah,I kind of did”I
answered walking back
as she walked closer to
us.
“Mom I need to tell you
something about the
house”Bhai walked up
to mom and practically dragged her out the door.
As soon as they left Kaustu walked to my comfy chair and sit while I sit on my bed.
“How do you feel?”
She asked giving me
a concerned look.
With a giant sigh I looked at her.
“Destroyed.I can’t
believe this is happening
to me.”
“Look to the bright side,
Lovely.You’re having a
baby with ‘Randhir Sexy
Singh’”She winked at
me and smiled wildly.
I threw a pillow on
her.
“What’s the bright
side?!”I shouted at her.
“Hey!We should call Rohan & Parth and tell them the news so they can come here”She pulled out her phone from pocket ready to call.
“Don’t u dare!I don’t
want them to know
just yet”I ran up to her
and took away her
phone.
“Fine.But do you want
me to spend the night?”
“I want to be alone and
think about all of this”I
gave her,her bag and
she nodded and head to the door.
“Take care sweetheart”She went out the door and shut it.
I went to the bathroom,brushed my
teeth and took a
shower.I put on my
pajamas and jumped in
my bed.
I wasn’t hungry at all and needed to escape from all of this.
Best way to do that? “Sleep”,exactly
what I was going to do.
~
The next morning,Breakfast was really quiet.Every time Bhai had a chance he’d say I have to tell mom about my situation and I was constantly telling him It’s going to be too hard.We went on and on until,Rohan like always came for me. The morning went by quickly.Every now and then Parth was
asking me if I’s alrite
and Kaustu was giving me the “tell him” look.
It was lunch time,so I
headed to cafetaria.
-T.B.C

