Ever wonder what a plant would be without its base,or without its roots?
Ever wonder what would you be today without your ‘Mom’..?
The first women we learn from are usually our mothers.Not always,but often the first role models for how we want to be as women in the world is our mothers.
The women around us are those from whom we learn what it means to BE a woman – and how to enact our strength and our femininity.
There is so much we learn from our mothers – both- what we want to do and what to avoid – and we are immensely grateful to them (at least, I know I am for mine!).
For me, I learned kindness, acceptance, connecting, and open-mindedness from my mother.My mother has showed [ still showing ] her emotions, including her love and affection, for me and my brother.I saw her cry when she was hurt, and smile, laugh and sing when she was happy.
My mom is the one that always comes off the train or bus with new friends (with whom she’s bragged about me). I used to be embarrassed that she talked about me, but now I’m glad that she’s proud, and realize it’s part of who she is.
She’s the one who keeps in touch with people for 50 years, and the one who loved all of my friends, no matter how much trouble they’d gotten into.
There are a number of traits for which I look to my mother as an example. I am lucky she is my mom.
However,when it comes to the professional setting, I didn’t always know how to behave since I had no example to follow. Sometimes this was a good thing – I used my friendliness to get me through, and got to decide how I wanted to interact with my professional colleagues. Sometimes this wasn’t such a good thing – like when I didn’t know how to deal with difficult people in the workplace, or what to ask for from my principals and mentors. [ Ah yes I am a teacher ]
Role models are so important,and I am glad for the example my mother set for me.
My mother embodied the qualities that we need to grow into as we grow older — especially simplicity and a connection with the sacred. For all those blessed to be in her orbit, it felt as if these dimensions of life were taken care of.
While our goal at the beginning of life is to see what we can make of it, my mother use to say that as we grow older, the goal is to see what it can make of us.
My mother is the ultimate non-thing person.
For instance, there was the time we tried to give her a second watch for her birthday, only to have her give it to someone else two days later.
“I already have a watch,”she used to explain.
This is ‘She’,patient and satisfactory.
Night after night, she would sit at the edge of my bed and listen intently to the things about life that hurt my feelings or made me confused. She’d also listen to all of the dreams and ambitions I had coursing through my imagination. I wallpapered my room with maps from National Geographic magazines, and my Mom would spend hours listening to me talk about the places in the world I wanted to go and the people I wanted to meet. That in itself is giving; caring about somebody, listening to them, and being a friend.
My Mom would do that for you too because that’s just who she is.
My mother took control of her own status and defined her own worth. So she was freed from the petty turf wars and ugly envy of the status game, freed from fear about how “they” ranked her and what privileges “they” would bestow on her. By deciding her own worth and radiating the confidence that comes with this, she was secure in her status regardless of her life’s circumstances. Getting rid of the fear that the status game generated allowed my mother to connect in a much deeper way with people at all levels of life.
She cut through hierarchies and showed everyone fortunate enough to come into contact with her that we’re all cut from the same cloth.
She approaches life by liking everybody,and because this feeling of trust and connection is contagious, everybody likes her right back.
Her solutions to problems would sometimes seem simple and obvious, but that was because of the fearlessness and trust with which she approach the world and move through it.
I am blessed to have my own mother as my ultimate fearless role model. She and I are different in one key way: She lives in the rhythm of a timeless world, a child’s rhythm; I live in the hectic, often unnatural rhythm of the modern world. While I have the sense every time I look at my watch that I am running out of time,she lives in a world where a trip to a market happily fills half a day,where there is always enough time for wonder at how lovely the rosemary looks next to the lavender.In fact, going through the market with her is like walking through the Louvre with an art connoisseur,except that you could touch and smell and taste the still-lifes.
Being with her is just ‘wow’ and considering her my rolemodel is just ‘perfect’.
She’s always enlightened the path of success in my life and somewhere she’s still doing the same.
I am writing about #MyRoleModel as a part of the activity by Gillette India in association with BlogAdda.com.

